The riddle

I met a bard beside the road
Some way outside of town.
He crossed my palm, and I crossed his,
And then he sat me down
And told me I’d acquire his fiddle
If only I could solve this riddle:

“My body is long, slender, pocked in places.
I wear a leather jacket.
My face is pale and plump.
I have no legs, and cannot travel sideways, though forwards and backwards I move with ease.
My grandfather is well-known indeed.
I am a friend to some, a helping hand; to others a threat, a reminder of debt.
What am I?”

Leave a Reply

